CCleaner deletion question

I'm an attorney defending a client. Plaintiff was ordered to preserve her files in her laptop. The same day, 41,000 files are deleted from the laptop. Plaintiff claims her calendared cleanup (CCleaner software) removed those files - even though only a few hundred were deleted in the calendared cleanup on a daily average in the weeks prior.

More telling is that she claims her Word and email files were deleted in the calendared cleanup. We claim she did a wipe, but she denies it, says she deleted nothing on purpose. Court agreed it's "possible" those 41,000 files were just deleted in the calendared cleanup.

Question: Is it possible for calendared cleanup to delete .doc and email files? Even using the most professional version?

• Moderators

it is unlikely that ccleaner did this without drive wiper being used (even then it only wipes free space on the primary windows drive).  However data recovery services are oft used in your line of work and (depending on when the judge ordered it) ccleaner's schedule should have been disabled by the respondent.

Enough of my armchair lawyering, we are but users here on this forum (though the developers do intercede when they can or are needed) and can't really give legal advice.

ADVICE FOR USING CCleaner'S REGISTRY INTEGRITY SECTION

DON'T JUST CLEAN EVERYTHING THAT'S CHECKED OFF.

Do your Registry Cleaning in small bits (at the very least Check-mark by Check-mark)

ALWAYS BACKUP THE ENTRY, YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU'LL BREAK IF YOU DON'T.

Support at https://support.ccleaner.com/s/?language=en_US

Pro users file a PRIORITY SUPPORT via email support@ccleaner.com