sound

arvind

"ouput", "Winamp" and "showing". Not "out put", "win amp" and "show ing".

Maybe you should install proper soundcard drivers?

When did the sound stop working?

firefoxblue4yw.gif

button_b.png hydrogen2nr.png

80x15_3.png

Oddly, the same thing happened on my computer yesterday. The only thing that fixed it was a repair install. But I'm not good at hardware troubleshooting.

Does Winamp have a diagnostic tool? If so, I would use that.

Windows Pro Media 8.1 x64  |  8GB Ram  |  500G HDD 7200 RPM  |  All  that I know about my graphics is that it's Intel  :)

When not using Winamp, does your audio work fine? If so, reinstall Winamp, as Winamp itself is most likely the problem.

Do you have an actual sound card, or is it integrated? What is the manufacturer? If your audio doesn't work at all, then Winamp is right, and you should reinstall your drivers.

I just finished building a new computer yesterday, and the motheraboard had built-in AC97 audio. I installed the drivers that came with it on a disk and the audio worked fine. Then I went onto Windows Updates, and it found updated drivers which it installed. After rebooting, the audio no longer worked! stupid Windows

So what I ended up having to do was go onto the manufacturer's website and download/install the drivers, and viola! Problem solved.

Have you recently updated your audio drivers, either manually or with Windows Updates? That could be your problem.

And by the way, Eldmannen, you're a butt. :D

Save a tree, eat a beaver.

Save a tree, wipe with an owl.

Every time a bell rings, a thread gets hijacked!

ding, ding!

Give Andavari lots of money and maybe even consider getting K a DVD-RW drive.

If it's not Scottish, IT'S CRAP!!!

• Moderators

lokoike is correct. Don't use drivers from Windows Update/Microsoft Update they're known to fail or be hopelessly outdated, instead download drivers from the actual manufacturer, or from your computer manufacturer drivers download website.