Version Numbers

ramtodatry

I am a software developer, and have been for more than 40+ years.

Love your products - All 4 of them as of today.

Please lose the last 4 digits of your version number control that you publicly display, and keep it for for internal purposes only.

It is confusing.  Why would you release Product V 4.xx.yyyy and then release Product V 4.xx,yyzz.

The crazy part is that Windows (+other utilities) only show the version as Product V 4.xx, as the remaining 4 digits do not get registered in the "REGISTRY".

Who are you trying to CONFUSE?

Get a better management of your version control.

Sorry.  Critical, YES.  Just trying to help.

Ram Todatry.

~email address removed by moderator to avoid spamming

It is confusing.  Why would you release Product V 4.xx.yyyy and then release Product V 4.xx,yyzz.

Factually incorrect.

I have never seen a "2-digit-major"."4-digit -minor" version string in which the minor consisted of either

4 identical digits,

or 2 pairs of digits.

If you scrutinize the past versions it should become self evident that the last 4 digits are a progressive sequence,

probably snapshots of the total quantity of code changes since the beginning.

e.g.

CCleaner 4.10.4570 Released: 23 Jan 2014 (4 weeks ago) Technical Details | Change Log

CCleaner 4.09.4471 Released: 19 Dec 2013 (2 months ago) Technical Details | Change Log

CCleaner 4.08.4428 Released: 25 Nov 2013 (3 months ago) Technical Details | Change Log

CCleaner 4.07.4369 Released: 24 Oct 2013 (4 months ago) Technical Details | Change Log

CCleaner 4.06.4324 Released: 25 Sep 2013 (5 months ago) Technical Details | Change Log

CCleaner 4.05.4250 Released: 26 Aug 2013 (6 months ago) Technical Details | Change Log

CCleaner 4.04.4197 Released: 25 Jul 2013 (7 months ago) Technical Details | Change Log

CCleaner 4.03.4151 Released: 25 Jun 2013 (8 months ago) Technical Details | Change Log

CCleaner 4.02.4115 Released: 27 May 2013 (9 months ago) Technical Details | Change Log