CC cleaner does not work!

mikeydude

Well evocative title I know, but I am new to this, So I followed the instructions to the letter, It took 10 hours to clean the drive free space....and five seconds for recova to find all the files still on the drive.

A bit of a waste of programming spave it would seem....or am I doing something wrong?

• Moderators

Not every already deleted file can be completely wiped, just browse about the forums to see posts about it - although I cannot point you to any particular post. Also Recuva can be ran in Deep scan mode to reveal even more files or show their results as unrecoverable if you have the time to wait for a lengthy deep scan.

Not every file eh...

As an experiment, I simply took a brand new 500GB drive.

I saved 20 Jpegs of about 200K size.

I then deleted them with windows, and recovered them with recuva.

I then wiped the drive using 3 passes with cc cleaner.

I then used recuva...not in deep scan mode...and it simply recovered them all no problem.

How is this possible?

How hard can it be to simply overright every part of the drive that can store date?

I can't understand this?

Yep, ticked the MFT box.

All I am saying is if 20 files get left a a min, say on a regular basis, that's a huge failure to delete rate.

I would feel better if perhaps one of them could not be recovered.

But all 20!

Well i will do a couple of experiments then I will have to leave it.

I was looking for a means of destroying sensitive information in my development company, prior to this we never sold on old machines without physically smashing the hard drives with a hammer, but the boss asked me if we could sell on several quite good lap tops..so I said..yeah sure casue there is really good sotfware out there that will delete everything.

Hmm. how wrong was I

• Moderators