Thousands of duplicates

devil

Have just installed the pro version, having used the free version for several years. You can therefore consider that I am a newbie. One of my first actions was to explore how to handle duplicate files and note that the recommendation is to delete only "homegrown" files.

It appears that I have literally thousands of files named Windows.old\ that are individually small but add up into the gigabyte range (see attachment). There may be 2 to over 100 similar files in any one directory (24 and two, in the attachment).

My instinct is to delete everything with C:\Windows.old\WINDOWS\… But I do not have a clue as to whether this would be safe or not. And should I leave the last version which is not checked in the attached list?

Can some kind person shed some light on this matter, please?

2020-06-26_103811.jpg.6979735d938be9e5015d27c227e7f81c.jpg

Edited by devil
Correction

• Moderators

Windows.old, and Windows SXS (Side by Side), files should not be deleted by yourself.

Deleteing them yourself may break your computer and stop it working.

They are files from the previous Windows installation following an update, and may still be needed by your current Windows version. (Side by Side files especially).

If you are sure that you are not going to want to roll back your Windows version then you can safely remove any unwanted Windows.old or SXS files using the built in Disk Clean-up or Windows Storage Sense.

This article shows both methods (Your Storage Sense may look slightly different to this depending on your Windows 10 version, but Disk Clean-up will be the same):
https://www.windowscentral.com/how-properly-remove-windowsold-folder-windows-10

Either method will take quite a long time to remove the files if there are a lot of them.
(I'm talking between 15 mins to a couple of hours depending on just how many there are, and the speed of your computer/disc).

*** Out of Beer Error ->->-> Recovering Memory ***