TOR Browser

login123

Anybody tried TOR Browser lately? 

Just recently started trying it here, after long period of not using it.

It seems much faster than it was before. 

Still a bit slow compared to normal browsing, but faster. 

Had a few issues getting it to start in a sandbox, but after it does start it seems to click along very nicely.

Edit. TOR is here: 

https://www.torproject.org/projects/torbrowser.html.en

The CCleaner SLIM version is always released a bit after any new version; when it is it will be HERE :-)

Pssssst: ... It isn't really a cloud. Its a bunch of big, giant servers.

Hello login123 - I've been using Tor for Windows for a good 8-9 months now, and I have noticed a difference starting with the 3.5.x series of releases (Current release is 3.6.1). There probably have been changes to the software itself that contribute to this, but that's probably not the sole reason. I believe that in light of the recent NSA revelations, more and more people are volunteering to run relays within the Tor network, and that more than anything else would speed up the flow of internet traffic through the network.    

Start every day with a smile and get it over with. - W.C. Fields

Quite right, I think. 

Of course, there is really No Such Agency, but folks are much more careful than they used to be. 

Probably the nodes work faster too, I guess, faster hardware, faster connections. 

Just  speculation. 

The CCleaner SLIM version is always released a bit after any new version; when it is it will be HERE :-)

• Moderators

Yes, seems quite a lot faster. I didn't use the latest TBB version for a while as it's delivered as an .exe, when it is nothing of the sort.

Talking of Sandboxie and TOR, have you noticed that Windows still creates prefetch entries for TOR, or whatever you run under Sandboxie, in the real prefetch folder? Sort of gives the game away.