ERUNT

tomn

Hi, beginner here.

I know this has probably been discussed here before, but I am a little confused on how to set this up.

I first must say that I have yet to download ERUNT.

I am using windows xp and firefox as my browser. When I initially download ERUNT is there anything special I have to do to get the setup program to download to my desktop? And after I run the installation program can I also get the shortcut for ERUNT to be installed on my desktop? The reason I ask is I seem to have had some issues before when downloading software and not letting me download to my desktop.

From My understanding I can use the default backup name (ERDNT) that will be stored in my windows folder which could be used for Windows recovery console to restore should the need arise.

Once installed, and I run "ERUNT", is the setup fairly self explanatory? I'm assuming I can setup the automatic backup feature thru the menu options?

I've seen a post or two on this forum about changing the amount of days to keep old copies of your registry that are available for backup at any one time to save space. Something about typing a command line switch? and setting the days to your choice. How would I do this? what would I actually have to type in?

To reach the command line I think I type "CMD" at the <RUN> prompt correct? Is this where the code is entered in?

Is there anything else I need to customize to just perform daily backups? I just need a general setup, nothing fancy.

Any help appreciated or if you can point me in the right direction.

Thanks

• Moderators

Hi tomn.

It's a while since I installed it, but I'm pretty sure as you install it you get the option for it to run at startup and make a registry backup with the first boot of the day.

So if you log on and off a number of times it will only make a backup on the first boot.

After installation follow these instructions: