Registry edits

doodler

Not too sure this is the right forum for this topic. I'm new at this...bear with me.

I'd love to get some expert advice regarding editing my registry (Windows XP). I removed Symantec in favor of Eset Nod32. I used the Norton removal tool to uninstall Symantec from my pc and had no major problems that I could see. Then, I ran CCleaner. But, afterwards I thought I'd check the registry for any remaining Symantec/Norton files by going to Start > Run > Regedit > Edit button > Find > then I typed "Symantec" (and a second time by typing "Norton"). This search resulted in finding a bunch of remaining entries...probably 20 or so.

Eset seems to be running fine on my computer, so I suppose these remaining Symantec and Norton entries aren't hurting anything in that regard. But, should they still be there? Some are actual folders with the words "Symantec" or "Norton" in the titles. Others are strings (? not sure if I'm using the right word...some registry folders themselves may not say "Symantec" or "Norton", but when you click on them, the strings that appear...with an "ab" symbol...have the words "Symantec" or "Norton").

So my question is: Is it appropriate and safe to delete those folder and "string" entries that have the words "Symantec" and "Norton" in them based on my registry search? Or should I leave well-enough alone and not worry about it? As mentioned above, I'm somewhat new to computers, but learning. I'd be grateful for your expert advice.

-I suppose these remaining Symantec and Norton entries aren't hurting anything in that regard. But, should they still be there?

-Is it appropriate and safe to delete those folder and "string" entries that have the words "Symantec" and "Norton" in them based on my registry search? Or should I leave well-enough alone and not worry about it?

-Well, most likely they won't hurt, but it's still good to delete them.