CCleaner Browser suddenly appeared on my system

unknwn

So about two days ago suddenly I noticed CCleaner Browser appeared on my taskbar and has set itself as the default browser. CCleaner has been installed on my machine since 18/06/20 according to the install date and never ever have I accepted nor have I actively activated it to be installed. Why does this happen? I have been using CCleaner way back since 2004, but seeing it is now sneaking in Software without my approval or knowledge is a little bit alarming to say the least.

• Moderators

Why does this happen?

The Browser has probably been installed when you installed/re-installed the new CCleaner version.

Just set whatever browser you normally use to be the default again. (And uninstall the CCleaner browser if you don't want it).

Although you may not believe it, you probably asked for the browser by mistake not realising that it was being offered.

There are a couple of ways I know of that can happen without you realising that you have asked for the Browser to install.

The first is from the CCleaner download page - when, in some browsers notably Firefox, you see an arrow 'tag' bouncing up and down in the top right corner saying 'Click here to install'.
If you try to click on that arrow itself you could hit the advertising banner underneath it and get taken to the download page for the Browser.
If you weren't paying attention you could think you were still downloading CCleaner and so click the download button there.
image.png

The second way it can happen is an occasional bug in the standard installer.
The standard installer shows you an 'offer' for another Piriform/Avast product with big blue 'Accept' and 'Decline' buttons, very occasionally the image for the offer doesn't load and you just see the two buttons - if you then click 'Accept' you will get whatever should have been showing as offered. (You should click 'Decline', but of course you have to know about the bug).