CCleaner registry cleaning question

Youngbear

I am new to CCleaner, and to all of my software programs and OP system. I am coming from a long journey into the ancient history of Windows systems. I made the jump from Win 98SE to Win Vista - if only I had known what I was missing!

In Win 98SE I had to learn to manually clean the operatiing system, learn to use regedit manually, and learn to compact my registry. Telling my friends I edited my registry myself would always send shivers of fear into the room. Now, CCleaner does the job - well done! CC was loaded by my computer tech for me, a true visionary.

Okay, enough cow-pucky. My question is this: when CCleaner cleans the registry does it also compact the registry? I have noticed and used the "Wipe free space" selection, and I am wondering if this is CCleaner language for "Compact Registry?"

If CC does not currently compact the registry, may I humbly suggest that it consider including this option.

In the mean, may I assume that the ms dos language underlying the Vista OP system is the same as it has always been and that I can use it to reach my command prompt and proceed from there as usual to compact the registry?

I thank anyone out there who takes the time to read and answer my questions, and communicating with you has been my pleasure.

YB

• Moderators

CC doesn't compact/defrag the Windows registry, although it has been a requested feature before.

Freeware that does compact/defrag the registry:

? Free Registry Defrag

? NTREGOPT, get the setup that also includes ERUNT.

Just make sure you use ERUNT first to make a known good registry backup, and do make a System Restore Point before compacting/defragging the registry.

Hi, Youngbear. Welcome. :D

Yours is an interesting first post. Thats a pretty big jump in operating systems. Glad you skipped win ME.