Will overwriting a temp file overwrite the actual file?

I originally used Recuva on my personal laptop to try and find and recover another totally unrelated Word document I'd lost when the first thing that popped up at the very top of the list of filenames listed by Recuva was a temp file that is deeply concerning to me because of the date it shows and because I don't know how that temp file or its date came into being in the first place or how it got deleted. Maybe the explanation's clear to someone like you with computer expertise, because I'm no expert, quite the opposite. For all things computer I must use Google and YouTube to try and fumble my way through, often with limited to no success, so any expertise, help, you might give me please would be GREATLY appreciated.

Anyway...

When I run Recuva on my C:, I get the following deleted temp file as the very first result because the results are in reverse chronological order and this' date is the most recent:

• File name: ~$Ben.docx
  • Path: C:\Ben\ 
  • Last Modified: 1/28/2024 11:12
  • Size: 162 bytes
  • State: Excellent
  • Comment: No overwritten clusters detected

The actual undeleted file has the following properties:

• File name: Ben.docx
  • Path: C:\Ben\
  • Last Modified: 1/30/2019 3:57:58 PM
  • Size 24,576 bytes