Problem with the Registry Cleaner

Hello,

Some time ago, when using CCleaner's registry cleaning, the tool offered to delete a bunch of keys relating to the "Dell Support Assist" application installed on my pc. Before proceeding with this operation I have, as proposed by the tool, a recording of the modifications. After performing the cleanup, I no longer had access to "Dell's Support Assist". And when I wanted to restore the file saved by CCleaner, it was impossible. I do have admin rights though. Also, I was unable to reinstall Dell's application.
This is the first time I have a problem using CCleaner. I had to call Dell support to fix the problem.
What happened ? Why did the registry cleaner offer to delete keys useful for the operation of an application and why was I unable to restore the deleted dlls?
Thank you in advance for your cooperation.

André

i am not an expert. just my comment. maybe you uninstalled "dell support assist"? or, if you used "adwcleaner" from malwarebytes, often it removes software like "dell support assist"?

i don't think that ccleaner's regcleaner would have removed those regkeys unless the "dell support assist" program had already been uninstalled, one way or another.

i've been using ccleaner and its regcleaner for a long time and it has never caused a problem for me.

Hi loustalou1:

This won't help you now, but for future reference there are instructions for restoring registry backups created by CCleaner at How Can I Restore Registry Backups?.

The following warning is posted in the CCleaner support article Clean the Windows Registry:

"We recommend examining Registry Cleaner's fixing options carefully.