Filenames and other data showing but data unrecoverable

Grumpyoldgit

Hi All

I've been using Recuva for a while now but this is my first time on the forum; today I used it to check a drive on which the files had been 'shredded'. Now, I know that shredding isn't a failsafe method of erasing but what puzzled me a bit was that there were files that showed as Unrecoverable and the comment said "File's data could not be found on the disk." but Recuva was still able to find the filename, path last modified date and file size.

So, my question is, if the file's data can't be found, how is it that all that other information can be? I should point out that I'm not looking to recover the files.

Thanks in advance

• Moderators

It's because that file information still resides in the Master File Table (MFT) of Windows, marked as a deleted file.

(So recovery programmes can see where the file data was and see which clusters to try and recover).

However if you have shredded or securely deleted the file then the disc clusters that it points to have been overwritten with random data, typically zeros and/or X's,  so that there is no data left there to be recovered only random digits.

I believe that 'Wipe MFT Free Space' from Custom Clean can remove the deleted entries from the MFT if that option is selected in Settings, - but to do that you also have to wipe all the free space on the disc which can take a while if it's a large disc. ('Wipe Free Space' is an option that you should not normally have selected).
Note that is 'Wipe Free Space' in Custom Clean - 'Drive Wiper' in the tools will not wipe the MFT free space.

image.png

image.png

*** Out of Beer Error ->->-> Recovering Memory ***

Worried about 'Tracking Files'? Worried about why some files come back after cleaning? See this link:
https://community.ccleaner.com/topic/52668-tracking-files/?tab=comments#comment-300043

• Moderators