CCleaner installation issue

tomn

I've been using CCleaner for a couple years now and I didn't really notice it until my brother who uses a separate user account on this computer, showed me that he has two copies of CCleaner (Icons) on his desktop. Apparently when updating or installing new versions it's putting 2 on his desktop and just one on mine, or in the case of updating it's just overwriting. I clicked on both of his copies and both are the latest version. I tried uninstalling CCleaner using Revo uninstaller (medium mode) and everything on both accounts was deleted. I re-installed and same thing, one icon on my desktop and two on his.

How can I stop this from installing two copies on his user account?

• Moderators

It's not.

In one install (the older version) it put a shortcut to ccleaner on HIS desktop

In the next install (the newer version) he asked it to "install for all users" which placed a shortcut on the Shared "All Users" Desktop

to fix this issue

Windows XP:

2. right click on the start menu (while signed into his account)
  3. Choose Explore
  4. Click on the Desktop folder under his username
  5. delete ccleaner shortcut

Windows Vista/7:

2. Sign in to his account
  3. Open the user folder (the one that contains documents, pictures etc)
  4. double click "desktop"
  5. Delete the ccleaner shortcut

this should leave only one shortcut on his desktop

ADVICE FOR USING CCleaner'S REGISTRY INTEGRITY SECTION

DON'T JUST CLEAN EVERYTHING THAT'S CHECKED OFF.

Do your Registry Cleaning in small bits (at the very least Check-mark by Check-mark)

ALWAYS BACKUP THE ENTRY, YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU'LL BREAK IF YOU DON'T.

Support at https://support.ccleaner.com/s/?language=en_US

Pro users file a PRIORITY SUPPORT via email support@ccleaner.com