Wireless Router Questions

mfenech

Trying to help a friend with a wireless setup, and I've never used one myself before. She has an Actiontec Wireless Gateway supplied by her ISP. Her laptop is 3-4 years old and uses the wireless card that came with it.

Speed isn't an issue. She lives in the boonies and her DSL speeds are 384down/384up (for $30/mo...ugh). I had her do speed tests with her hardwired PC vs. her wireless connected laptop - both had the same test results. Distance is questionable. She can maintain a 'good' signal throughout her house and on her back porch, but loses signal when she goes to her boat dock about 150' from her porch. So...

1. Will upgrading her laptop's wireless card make any difference? I'd have to get her to look up the protocol (g or otherwise) if that needs to be known.

2. Does positioning her gateway, such as higher up from her desk or near a window, etc., have an effect?

3. Her gateway has a NAT and outbound firewall, the NAT is on by default but the firewall isn't. She has eTrust Security Suite installed on her PC and wants to put it on her laptop also. If she does, will the gateway's firewall be necessary?

4. Can someone post a site that gives good beginner-intermediate info on wireless router setups, hardware firewalls, etc.?

Thanks.

1. Will upgrading her laptop's wireless card make any difference? I'd have to get her to look up the protocol (g or otherwise) if that needs to be known.

different cards go different lengths. you should find the range on the card and compare it.

2. Does positioning her gateway, such as higher up from her desk or near a window, etc., have an effect?

it does make a difference where it is. id recommend up high by a window if she wants to get it 150 ft away.