Source Drive 'Not Ready'. [Resolved]

weybrew

I am attempting to recover the content of a formatted SSD and I get a message saying my target drive is "not ready." I am not a techie and do not understand what has happened and how or if I can fix the problem.

recuva01 (1).png

• Moderators

To begin with - it is (almost) impossible to recover deleted files from a SSD.
That's simply because of the way that SSDs work.
TRIM and Garbage Collect zero out deleted files, (not realy but the effect is similar), so although the filenames may be found the files themselves have probably gone for good.

However if the SSD has crashed then it may be possible to recover the undeleted files that were on it.
If that is why you had to reformat your SSD then you have a better chance of recovering the files.

In either case though you have nothing to lose by trying, other than time.

As for 'The target drive is not ready' that is usually an indication that the target drive is a HDD that has 'gone to sleep' ie. stopped spinning because it hasn't been accessed for a while.
Simply opening File Explorer and opening the drive should wake it up again.

If Recuva still says that the target is not ready after you've woken it up then you will have to scan again - but before you do make sure the target won't go back to sleep again.

Presumably your target drive is connected to USB?
You can prevent USB connected drives going to sleep, either by changing the Power managment in Windows Settings, or changing the USB behaviour in Device Manager, (or both).
There are plenty of articles and instructions on the web about how to do that, so I won't repeat them here.

PS. Is your Recuva up to date?
There was a 'Patch' update last month, it shouldn't affect the above but it's still good to have the latest version.
https://www.ccleaner.com/knowledge/recuva-v1-53-2096

*** Out of Beer Error ->->-> Recovering Memory ***