Recuva recovered files not working/corrupted

Recuvyon381

Hello. I am new to this "Recuva" thing. I had to struggle with getting my "permanently deleted" files back, until I found this software named Recuva. I thought this thing was helpful for recovering permanently deleted files, even the ones I find very important.

But however, I did a deep scan to search for the perm-deleted files, and the results came up. I checked all that are green-stated, and then recovered them. But when I open up every single file like a video or audio file, it just appears corrupted! And some of the files are 0 bytes. The recovering didn't work out good in my opinion. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

- Dan

• Moderators

Probably not a lot, but your conception of data recovery might be rather hazy. After all, 'Recovering permanently deleted files' is a little contradictory.  No deleted file can be guaranteed to be recovered, and no operating system cares about, or helps in, recovering deleted files.

A deep scan runs a normal scan first, and those with a file name will be from the normal scan, and  those with a numerical name in square brackets will be from the deep scan. The deep scan looks for a particular set of file signatures in every non-allocated cluster. Those clusters with a match are listed, along with the following clusters, until another cluster with a file header, or a live file, is found. Only the first extent of a file is found, as there is no way of linking extents, so video or audio files - which are usually large and more likely to be in multiple extents - are quite often unplayable.