CCleaner finding "strange" registry entries

joeg

I've been using the free version of CCleaner for a couple of years now, and I'd like to express my sincere thanks to Piriform for making this excellent tool available. It does what it claims it does and is relatively easy to understand and configure. I use it every night as the second-last step in my "computing day". The last step is making a Restore Point.

I'm now using CCleaner v.5.316105 (64-bit) on a Win7-SP1 machine with all the latest M$ updates, etc.

In the last couple of weeks, I've noticed that every single night when I use CCleaner's Registry Cleaner function, in addition to identifying registry entries that "make sense" to me, CCleaner finds something like this

ccleaner.jpg

It's always an "ActiveX/COM Issue", it's always in the system32 folder, it's always a .dll, and the name always has a string of letters like the one above (8-9 letters). And it's always an HKCR\CLSID key.

The problem is that when I run regedit and search for, e.g. in this case, bokieaim.dll, it doesn't find anything. Furthermore, when I go into my system32 folder, it doesn't find it either.

This is always the case, no matter what the name of the file is.

Furthermore, when I search for the .dll in Google, it never comes up with anything.

I've written the names of several of them down and there are never two with the same name.

I've feared might have a virus or trojan or whatever, but I have Norton Internet Security, MalwareBytes, and MS EMET. I've also run lots of "external" scans: BitDefender, MSERT, and several others. Nothing's ever found anything.

And on a purely subjective level, my computer, which is not "state of the art", but which has a good Samsung SSD, 12gb of RAM, and a reasonably powerful Intel Xeon CPU, is running as fast and smooth as ever.

Where, please, is CCleaner finding these entries? :unsure:

Thank you.

P.S. This is the report from today (04 July)

ccleaner02.jpg

Hi, joeg.