I Don't Understand the Files Recuva "Recovers"

Jiffie

Hello,

I'm super, super new at this, I'm not really good at computers, but I'm trying to learn all I can and I'm pretty good at DIY stuff, however, this is troubling me. Here's the thing, I had a massive flash drive filled with a lot of information (I have also backed up one of my computers fully on it with room to spare). I accidentally overwritten everything on it with the media creation tool kit to install windows 10 (I have a broken computer than needs restarting back to factory, and, like an idiot, I used an important flash drive to do this on without backing it up). I've Googled all I can about my situation, and though I can only find complaints of people saying they want to "permanently" erase their files, I'm actually on the other side of the argument in wanting to recover these "not really deleted" files, but I'm not getting many hits in my search because looking for how to recover overwritten files keeps giving me "you have a permanent thumbprint in your various tech" results. Anyways, through viewing sites talking about how files aren't ever really deleted, I've been redirected to Recuva, the first of another file recovery program I've tried so far.

Recuva actually gives me the best results, out of another program I had used, as when I do a file recovery on the flash drive, it brings up thousands (really, a whole lot, I don't even know the number) of files, so I think it's working and doing its job. The problem is, all of these files have strange names with weird characters or numbers, and they look nothing like my labeled files I had deleted/overwritten from my flash drive. I really feel as if these are my missing files, but they are all "white paper" icons that I don't have the program to open, and just massive amounts of folders I don't understand.