Jump to content
CCleaner Community Forums

Edward5932

Members
  • Content Count

    9
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

About Edward5932

  • Rank
    Newbie

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Ok, many thanks for the graphic explanation. I understand now that launching Wipe Free space from the different menus does different things. It may be useful for the software developers to remove the ambiguity. Specifically: (1) When wiping free space in the CustomClean/advanced/WipeFreeSpace, it will or will not wipe MFT free space depending on the setting in Options/Settings MFT checkbox. However, will it also follow the settings in Options/Settings for the other choices (normal/secure, number of passes, alternate data streams, cluster tips)? (2) When wiping free space in Tools
  2. This is exactly the problem. Wipe Free Space DOES wipe the MFT when this option is unchecked in Options/Settings.
  3. I am using Wipe Free Space. It always wipes MFT free space, even when this option is not checked.
  4. In the options menu under the settings, i unchecked the box for wipe MFT free space. However, when I wipe free space in the tools, drive wiper menu, it always wipes the MFT free space. It takes a long time to wipe the MFT free space, which is why i want to skip this step. Any suggestions? Should I delete the program and re-install? I have a laptop with windows 7 home edition 64 bit, 8 GB RAM, intel core2 duo CPU 1.4 GHz, with Ccleaner professional v 5.63.7540. Many Thanks, Edward
  5. I have the professional version of Ccleaner. When i started up CCleaner, at the botton right in an orange box, it states "upgrade to Pro". I have the professional version, and at the top menu it states that this is the professional version. I just thought that maybe i need to renew, as I lost track of when i last renewed. I clicked the orange upgrade to pro box, went through the steps, purchased the professional edition. When i relaunched Ccleaner, it still has that orange box at the bottom asking me to upgrade to the professional version. At the top menu, it states that i have the profe
  6. Rather than give you an obscure error code, perhaps it would be better to just give a message saying the it was unable to get update information on a certain program, providing the use with the name of this program. I suggest that for future versions, the software updater should be placed last in the selection list, not first. Because it is placed as the first choice, it is always selected by default, forcing an annoying delay, and the usual error codes and program crashes. That small change will solve the problem as far as i'm concerned, because i never need to click on it. Awful software
  7. Hi Ben, So, in other words, Ccleaner will not work at all if your server is having issues? Previous versions of Ccleaner worked fine when my computer was not connected to the internet. Now, Ccleaner works only if connected? But, if you servers are not working, then the program will crash. Great design. You need to let users opt out of this "updater" nightmare, at the very least. The program has completely lost its functionality.
  8. Thanks, but the previous professional version, which is 5.54.7088, is not available anywhere for download. Only free versions of previous editions of ccleaner are available for download. So, i'm basically stuck with this new disfunctional version. Is it possible that Ccleaner can make the previous professional version available for download? If I download this previous version, do i need to completely delete the new version from my PC first? Or will it automatically overwrite the new version, and save all my settings ( cookies, included, excluded, etc.). Thanks, Edward
  9. I stronly advise anyone to absolutely not upgrade to ccleaner version 7108. The prior version was really wonderful. This new version is really terrible. When you click on "tools" on the left side menu, the computer takes about 15 minutes in the "software updater" to check and see if all the programs on your computer are updated. This is mandatory, there is no way to opt out of this. If you try to click anything, while this updating search process is ongoing, such as clicking on "uninstall", it will crash the program. You have to click on the task manager in Windows 7, and "end task" the
×
×
  • Create New...