Hi. Can anyone help me?

funky

Howdy all. I'm not very good with computers and was wondering whether somebody could help me out.

I've been using CC cleaner for a year or two now. Some time ago, the "run" on my start menu disappeared. I had no idea why and after asking a few people for help (to no avail) I gave it up as a lost cause. I just ran CC cleaner now and realised that there's an option to remove the Run on the start menu so that's what I must have done.

I can't find an option to get it back though. I'm pretty sure that someone will suggest reloading the backed up registry. I have a few questions problems relating to this.

Firstly, I don't know when I lost my "run" on the start menu. I have a lot of registry back ups and it could take ages to find the right one.

Secondly, I don't know how to use the registry back ups.

Thirdly, would reloading the old registry back ups bring back all the issues and all the rubbish that CC cleaner has deleted for me?

Is there a simpler way to get my "Run" back?

Finally, I'd like to know exactly why CC cleaner deletes the "run" on the start menu? Does it cause a problem or something?

Thanks very much for your help!:)

I'm running XP, btw.

• Moderators

CCleaner doesn't actually remove the run command, just the things you've entered into it.

To get it back right click your start menu and go to properties>customize>advanced. Scroll down in that tab and you should see an entry that says "run command". If thats not checked, check it then press ok and it should be on your start menu. :)

Hello again.:)

It doesn't work with classic menu either Whiteshark.:(

When I press WIN and R a little box comes up saying"This operation has been cancelled due to restrictions in effect on this computer. Please contact your system administrator".

As far as I know, I am the system administrator because no one else uses this computer.

Hello again.:)

It doesn't work with classic menu either Whiteshark.:(