Shell Folders

mushu13

Every time I open CCleaner it changes some of the Shell Folders located in:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders]

The ones it changes are:

Cookies

Local AppData

Cache

History

When I logon they are:

"Cookies"="C:\\Documents and Settings\\Dusty\\Cookies"

"Local AppData"="C:\\Documents and Settings\\Dusty\\Local Settings\\Application Data"

"Cache"="C:\\Documents and Settings\\Dusty\\Local Settings\\Temporary Internet Files"

"History"="C:\\Documents and Settings\\Dusty\\Local Settings\\History"

After I open CCleaner they are:

"Cookies"="C:\\Documents and Settings\\NetworkService\\Cookies"

"Local AppData"="C:\\Documents and Settings\\NetworkService\\Local Settings\\Application Data"

"Cache"="C:\\Documents and Settings\\NetworkService\\Local Settings\\Temporary Internet Files"

"History"="C:\\Documents and Settings\\NetworkService\\Local Settings\\History"

Now I'm no expert, but I would think that this would hinder CCleaner's cleaning ability, alot.

They call them fingers, but I've never seen them fing, or ger. WOAH there they go!!!!!!!

~Otto

How to use CCleaner on a Flash Drive (pre v2.0)

Could you try Microsoft Sysinternals Regmon to monitor CCleaner registry activity.

Just use HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders as Include filter in Regmon and run CCleaner, then save the Regmon log and attach it here.

I used it myself and I can confirm that CCleaner can set those paths, but the question is why your CCleaner set wrong paths.

Thanks. The NetworkService profile apparently is a "special" secure profile for some of the Windows XP services. For some reason in your system CCleaner get wrong environment paths what points to that profile. :unsure: