C:\program\ccleaner64.exe issues

Bigmagic

Windows 10. I am using the free version of Ccleaner that I use Paypal from time to time to help them with costs.

I have been using Ccleaner for several years with no issues, but in the last 4-5 days, I am getting messages in my notifications in the system tray (9-10 per day) that say:

"Windows Security, Virus & Threat protection, Unauthorized changes blocked."

It appears the blocked folder is;

"\Device\Harddisk0\DR0"

I have done several different scans and I am not finding any type of virus. I am wondering if the program has become corrupt. Perhaps I need to uninstall and reinstall it.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

• Moderators

I'm not sure why you think this is a CCleaner issue?

Nothing that you say there indicates CCleaner, is there some other information that makes you think that it is?

Obviously something is trying to change something that your Windows security settings say it shouldn't.

Can you screenshot a clip of one of the notifications?

What are the several scans you have already done?

*** Out of Beer Error ->->-> Recovering Memory ***

Worried about 'Tracking Files'? Worried about why some files come back after cleaning? See this link:
https://community.ccleaner.com/topic/52668-tracking-files/?tab=comments#comment-300043

• 2 weeks later...
  • Moderators

There does appear to be something going on with Controlled Folder Access for a very small number of users.

We now have 3 recent reports of similar notifications from CFA, which isn't a lot when you consider the number of CCleaner users that there are around the world but it is still puzzling.

I'll flag it to the staff to see if they can find why this may be happening for just a few users.

As it's only happening for a few users then it may be machine or Windows version/settings specific.

Could you say what make of machine you have and what Windows version/build you are running?