Driver Updater BSOD loop, possibly bricked

Ghost283

Hi All,

I've been using CCleaner for quite a few years now with no issues. I recently tried out the new driver updater, which I now seriously regret.

I was running the latest version of CCleaner, and ran my usual scan to delete junk files, then ran the driver updater. It updated a few drivers, then the computer crashed to BSOD. Upon reboot the system could not boot and again went to BSOD with the SYSTEM THREAD EXCEPTION NOT HANDLED stop code. It eventually boots into the recovery environment. The system repair is unable to fix whatever the problem is.

I next tried to boot into safe mode, no dice. All safe mode options go to BSOD. Even disabling driver signature enforcement does nothing.

I am able to access cmd from the recovery environment. I ran chkdsk, all clear. sfc /scannow throws an error and is unable to run. DISM repairs won't run without some workarounds, but didn't seem to fix any issues.

I attempted to restore from previous system image, as I have a few points prior to the BSOD loop. The system runs the restore, then throws an error code and says that it couldn't restore from the image.

Tried booting from windows installation media on a usb drive. I can access the installation environment and run the repair tools, but it does nothing.

I'm guessing that something with the CCleaner driver updater corrupted one of my device drivers, my guess is it's Nvidia as I'm pretty sure that was the one it was on when the crash happened.

I'm pretty much at the nuclear option of having to reinstall windows here. I'm not even sure if that will work. I'm pretty upset as CCleaner should have never pushed out this feature as I've seen quite a few threads with this same issue. If anyone has any advice I'd appreciate it.

• Moderators

If you can't get into Windows at all to repair it, and you do seem to have tried most things you can, then it does look like clean reinstall time.