File is there, but inaccessible

bretsim

Hello, noob here. 

A laptop I thought was plugged in ran out of battery and switched off unexpectedly. Upon powering on again, I noticed a large (20gb) and important file had vanished (in Windows, the folder it was in was there on first boot, but gave an error when I tried to browse to it. On subsequent boots, the folder vanished completely too.)

I ran Directory Snoop first of all - it didn't find the file, but when I searched by file size, it showed me a non-deleted file with the right name, size and creation/modification/access dates as my file. It had no path, so I couldn't do anything other than feel relieved that at least it wasn't totally gone. In WinDirStat, I could see a large file block of approximately the right size, but again was unable to browse to it. 

I tried Recuva next, with the non-deleted file option selected. It didn't find the file, but when I looked at a deleted file in the parent folder, Recuva gave the info that it was unrecoverable as it had been overwritten by the file I was looking for, with path c:\?\

So every utility I've used knows the file is there, but none is able to do anything at all with it. 

Any suggestions to recover this file? I want to try Checkdsk next, but I don't want to lose the tenuous grip I have on the file at the moment, where I can at least see it's there!

Thanks for reading! 

Guest johnccleaner

Despite Recuva saying it's unrecoverable (please keep in mind that the Condition is merely the software's best estimate!), you may still want to try recovering it first - worst that happens, you get nothing out of it, and are in the same position you are now; best case, you get your file back. Please do not recover it back to the same drive, though - recover it on another drive, a USB Flash drive, etc so as to prevent the recovery process from causing any additional damage.