SpeechRunTime.exe

melxpress

I've been running CClearner Pro for many years (several times a day) on a PC and a laptop (both running Windows 10 64-bit).  As of late (over a week now), CC has detected the following "problem" while running the Registry scan on my PC only.  I am unable to figure out why CC is detecting this and why it cannot remove it.  I've searched through Google for SpeechRuntime.exe but doesn't seem to apply to this problem.  I decided to purchase a new SSD with a clean Windows 10 installation and the problem persists.

Problem: ActiveX/COM Issue    

Data: LocalServer32\C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Speech_OneCore\Common\SpeechRuntime.exe -ToastNotifier    

Registry Key: HKCR\CLSID\{265b1075-d22b-41eb-bc97-87568f3e6dab}

Any help is much appreciated.

Screenshot_1.png

I've got the same "problem".  Defender doesn't seem to have an issue with the exe (scan) and after a check with Run->cmd sfc/scannow there wasn't any malfunction either. So it looks like Ccleaner has some unjust dislike of the exe file. However, maybe i am mistaken . The pc does funtion normally though. Considering you have had the issue as recently as i have, i would feel like a Ccleaner-thing...

Regards, Nico

• Moderators

That is a system entry relating to a system file and Windows is putting it back if you remove it, leave it alone.
(It's part of the upcoming Spring 2021 update to Windows 10, it's just been put on most machines early in preparation for the update).

In fact we reccomend that you leave all registry entries in Windows 10 alone.

Our advice, and Microsoft's, is - don't use any registry cleaner with Windows 10 - if you do you may 'break' your Windows 10 and have to reinstall Windows from scratch.

Windows 10 changes the registry frequently, and registry cleaning apps will never be able to keep up with that.

You may get away with using one with no problems for months or years, but it's not worth the risk.