cannot update CCleaner free version v5.73 to free version v5.74 in Win 10

Chris59

When CCleaner opened it says there is an update. I decline "pay for" versions and on next page select free version (v5.74). This then downloads, unpacks and then I click install. I am an administrator.

I have tried this both from within Edge and straight from the downloads folder. I get the same result in each case, the installation proceeds but a dialog box flashes up momentarily, the installation then just sits doing nothing with the message "skipped CCleaner.exe" above the install progress bar. To get rid of this and retry, I enter task manager and "end task". I noticed that the task I am ending has (32 bit) after it even though I have 64 bit win10.

I have updated many times in the past without problems but I do not know how to proceed. v5.73 works fine, I would rather have v5.74 but not unless it is easy to install.

Any suggestions?

• Admin

Usual diagnostic questions:

• Which version of Windows 10 are you running (1809,2004,etc)?
  • Do you have any antivirus or firewall software running?
  • Does the ccsetup574.exe installer work properly for you if you right-click on it from your downloads folder and select "Run as Administrator"?
  • When you right-click on ccsetup574.exe and select Properties > Compatibility is the Compatibility mode unchecked? (should be off)

Piriform Homepage - [CCleaner - CCleaner Mac - CCleaner Android - CCleaner Browser - Recuva - Speccy - Kamo] - Product Support

Looking for your licence key, expiry date or download link? Check here first: https://www.ccleaner.com/support/license-lookup
To find out how we protect your privacy - read CCleaner's Data Factsheet.
What's new? Check the latest CCleaner for Windows release notes

Hi Dave,

Win 10 is 2004

Yes McAfee (but in many previous updates it was also running without issues)

ccsetup574.exe does not work when I use run as administrator

the compatibility box is unchecked