After a bunch of bug reports this evening I think I now grasp your original point.  For some reason, toggling autorenewal on in 5.74 also toggles on Smart Cleaning, which lets you know proactively when there is stuff to clean, rather than waiting for you to run it manually.  Which means you have to go back and switch Smart Cleaning back off again - which is a pest if you did not want it on.  While Smart Cleaning is not a privacy concern, having it on unexpectedly is a user experience issue,