CCleaner Not Working Properly While Connected to VPN

nateinva

Hi, I'm a longtime pro user and have a serious issue that just started recently.  I am no longer able to access the CCleaner domain while connected thru NordVPN on Windows 10.  This means that the app also does not function properly (ie fails to check updates, recycle bin shortcut hangs app when running, etc.).  As soon as I disconnect from Nord the app functions as expected.

Are you all intentionally blocking Nord's servers from accessing your product(s)?  If so, I cannot continue to support this product as I'm not going to disconnect from my VPN provider every time I empty the bin or run the app.  I truly hope this is a temporary issue that will be resolved.

Please advise...

• Admin
3 hours ago, nateinva said:

Hi, I'm a longtime pro user and have a serious issue that just started recently.  I am no longer able to access the CCleaner domain while connected thru NordVPN on Windows 10.  This means that the app also does not function properly (ie fails to check updates, recycle bin shortcut hangs app when running, etc.).  As soon as I disconnect from Nord the app functions as expected.

Are you all intentionally blocking Nord's servers from accessing your product(s)?  If so, I cannot continue to support this product as I'm not going to disconnect from my VPN provider every time I empty the bin or run the app.  I truly hope this is a temporary issue that will be resolved.

Please advise...

We don't block NordVPN, or VPNs generally - indeed we think they're neat and spend a lot of time using them ourselves.  But it certainly sounds like something is amiss somewhere.

• Usual debug questions - Windows Edition and build? Firewall and AV software?  
  • Are there any entries in your c:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\hosts file?  Especially anything referencing CCleaner domains?