Health Check deleted 20000 thumbnails :-(

RenéM

Health Check - Unwanted files to remove - Temporary system files - files that are no longer required by your system (translated from Danish).

Such information should be trusting, but damn what happened right there.

Who has made the decision?

The text indicated that these files were no longer required by your system, but not which ones were involved.

I am a photographer and am now missing more than 20000 thumbnails in my picture folders.
It will take me more than a week to recover my computer.

What are you thinking about?

I thought CCleaner was a serious product I could trust.

I'm f***ing crazy.

• Moderators

Sorry to hear that you did that.
It must be annoying but Windows will rebuild the thumbnail cache itself.

Health Check is meant for non-technical users - Custom Clean is for serious users.

A serious user would not just blindly run Health Check (or any other application) without first checking what it will do.

Health Check has a simplified user interface, and what it cleans follows it's own cleaning rules.

The Ticking/Unticking of things (such as Firefox components) in the Custom Clean area are settings for Custom Clean only.

The Custom Clean Settings are not, and will not, be used by Health Check.
You cannot change the settings that Health Check will use.
Health Check will always use it's own built-in cleaning rules each and every time that you run it.
Look at the Icons -
Custom Clean icon has a little 'settings' cogwheel to show you can change it's settings, - Health Check icon doesn't because you can't change it's settings.

If you want more control of just what is cleaned or not by ticking/unticking the Custom Clean options then you have to use Custom Clean itself to clean.

To change which method CCleaner uses as the default, and also for any scheduled cleans, go to Otions>Settings and change the 'CCleaner Home Screen'.

*** Out of Beer Error ->->-> Recovering Memory ***