CCleaner browser has taken over

Mike8

I've been using free version of CCleaner for a few years now, and had no problems, and have also used Google Chrome as my browser for many years. But recently, I've noticed that when I click some links, they open up in this new CCleaner browser, which is most annoying, as I want to use chrome as my browser. Can you please explain how this happened, because I don't remember installing a new browser. Also, a website I'm using now for a paid educational course needs me to install a Chrome extension application, and it's going to be a real pain if I have to constantly swap between the two browsers to do this. In fact, I doubt that the chrome extension will even work, if it resides on Chrome, and the main website is open in CCleaner browser. How did I end up with CCleaner browser? 

And also, while typing up this text, I've been stopped about 10 times and asked to prove that I'm not a robot by "recaptcha"! Most annoying!

• Moderators

It sounds that CCleaner Browser has been set to be your default browser when it installed.

Simply change it back to make Chrome your default browser again, so that when you click a link Chrome will open.
https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95417?co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop&hl=en

Then uninstall the CCleaner Browser if you don't want it. Once it's uninstalled then it's gone and can't bug you anymore.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/4028054/windows-10-repair-or-remove-programs

As for how you got it;
It was probably offered when you installed a previous version of CCleaner and you didn't untick (maybe didn't notice) the pre-ticked box, so it installed the browser as well.

*** Out of Beer Error ->->-> Recovering Memory ***

Worried about 'Tracking Files'? Worried about why some files come back after cleaning? See this link:
https://community.ccleaner.com/topic/52668-tracking-files/?tab=comments#comment-300043

• 3 weeks later...