I'm new to Firefox

Woody

Hi everybody. Well I've finally taken the plunge and downloaded Firefox, been meaning to try it for ages. I've only ever used IE before and atm everything seems a bit odd. I know that a lot of people here use Firefox, so any help, advice or encouragement will be much appreciated. I feel all at sea right now.

It is never difficult to distinguish between a Scotsman with a grievance and a ray of sunshine. P. G. Wodehouse

• Moderators

Well its pretty similar to internet explorer but a lot more customizable. You can pretty much change anything you want about it.

Some things I always do when I convert someone to firefox are:

1. Firetune- This will speed firefox up considerably. Its available here and quite easy to use:

http://www.totalidea.com/content/firetune/...tune-index.html

2. Adblock and filter set G updater- These combined extensions will greatly improve your internet experience by blocking ALL adds that you might encounter on the internet.

Adblock

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/10/

Filter Set G updater

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/1136/

3. Remember this site(its bookmarked in FF by default)

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/

This site is the place to get all extensions and themes to further customize FF to your liking. You can pretty much do anything with it.

Thanks rridgely for the quick reply. I've already dowloaded Adblock, No script and Tab mix plus. I've never used tabbed browsing before so don't really know how to use it for the best, but I'm sure I'll get used to it with a bit of experimentation.

It is never difficult to distinguish between a Scotsman with a grievance and a ray of sunshine. P. G. Wodehouse

• Moderators

I'm not a fan of no script. I dont like having to load sites twice to get them to load fully because that extension blocks something. Yeah I know its for security but I want security and no hassle. :D