Jump to content

RIP Edge browser?


nukecad

Recommended Posts

  • Moderators

Microsoft are reportedly scrapping Edge in favour of 'A Chromium based browser' as the default.

https://www.windowscentral.com/microsoft-building-chromium-powered-web-browser-windows-10

The ultimate way of getting Chrome onto your computer, whether you want it or not?

*** Out of Beer Error ->->-> Recovering Memory ***

Worried about 'Tracking Files'? Worried about why some files come back after cleaning? See this link:
https://community.ccleaner.com/topic/52668-tracking-files/?tab=comments#comment-300043

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators

I don't think they could get their own browser engine to function with the speed and features of the other browser so why not go with the best (so to speak). This is a win, win for everyone. A independent browser that doesn't rely on the core Windows ecosystem (yet) and Microsoft is even submitting code to improve the browser.

Your Friendly Neighborhood Piriform Forum Moderator

Quick Links: CCleaner Products | CCleaner Documentation | Knowledge Center | Downloads | Lost License Key

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators

I never could get used to Edge, I use SRWare Iron Portable solely for YouTube, and Firefox Portable for everywhere else.

Interesting because the Lon.TV YouTube channel recommends the use of Edge on low-end budget systems in his video reviews of low-end budget systems, since Edge seems to have less of performance impact. So I wonder how Microsoft will cater if at all to low-end systems with say a max of 2GB-4GB RAM that cost anywhere from $180-$400 dollars like inexpensive laptops, etc. I definitely don't think a Chrome/Chromium based browser would play nice on some of those due to RAM, resource, and CPU requirements.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This article might help "de-confuse"

https://betanews.com/2018/12/06/microsoft-edge-chromium/

Windows 10 x64 Pro on ASUS Maximus VIII Extreme motherboard, i7-6700k CPU,H220 X2 Liquid Cooler, 64 gbyte RipJaws DDR4 3200 RAM, Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2 500 gbyte SSD + Samsung 850 Pro 512 gbyte SSD, EVGA Nvidia GeForce 980 Titan card (Home Built System);  Windows 11x64 Pro on 512 gigabyte Dell XPS 15 2-in-1 Laptop/tablet.  ASUS RT-AC88U router, 14 tbyte WD My Cloud PR2100 NAS Server, 200 Mbps cable Internet, MS Edge Chromium, MS Office 2021 (Local), Casper 11, DisplayFusion (3 Flat Panel Displays per system):   Kaspersky Internet Security 2021, Malwarebytes 4, Quicken, Weather Watcher Live, ThumbsPlus 10, Sticky Password 8, WD Smartware, CyberLink PowerDVD21, MSI Burner, Rainmeter, Windows Sidebar, WD Smartware and many more.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

- No, that article doesn't reduce the confusion, at all.

- But I found this article:

https://betanews.com/2018/12/10/microsoft-edge-chrome-extensions/

I don't know whether or not this will work (that well). chrome extensions on Edge ? A recipe for A LOT OF problems.

- Well, any one who doesn't want to use Edge Always can switch back to IE 11.  ;-)

System setup: http://speccy.piriform.com/results/gcNzIPEjEb0B2khOOBVCHPc

 

A discussion always stimulates the braincells !!!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

- This could pose a problem for third party software who use the "rendering engine" of Edge and perhaps even Internet Explorer (like e.g. Outlook Classic). We'll have to wait and see what the future will bring.

System setup: http://speccy.piriform.com/results/gcNzIPEjEb0B2khOOBVCHPc

 

A discussion always stimulates the braincells !!!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...
  • Moderators

If anyone wants to try the new Chrome based Edge a beta version is now available to download from the Dev Channel:
https://www.microsoftedgeinsider.com/en-us/

More about the different Chrome channels, how they work, and how to switch between them:
https://www.chromium.org/getting-involved/dev-channel

Personally I'm sticking with Firefox (at least for now).

*** Out of Beer Error ->->-> Recovering Memory ***

Worried about 'Tracking Files'? Worried about why some files come back after cleaning? See this link:
https://community.ccleaner.com/topic/52668-tracking-files/?tab=comments#comment-300043

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators
On 1/27/2019 at 13:51, Willy2 said:

- This could pose a problem for third party software who use the "rendering engine" of Edge and perhaps even Internet Explorer (like e.g. Outlook Classic).

I would imagine the rendering engine would be left intact, likely parts of the OS require it like in previous Windows versions.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.