Jump to content
CCleaner Community Forums

Change to Secure File Delete


Recommended Posts

Having just bought the Pro Version can't seem to change my settings;

CCleaner shows secure deletion is set at "Normal" (Faster)... 

I have tried to click the change this to "Secure" (Slower), but this feature and the overwrite preference box is greyed out and currently shows complex overwrite 35 passes, as per the screen shot...

 

Does anyone know how to change this over to secure, please??

 

Thanks in advance

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-06-24 at 08.21.10.png

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators

not having a Mac, but I would guess it's due to you having a solid state drive.

using secure wiping on a PC with CC pops up a big warning flag.

Backup now & backup often.
It's your digital life - protect it with a backup.
Three things are certain; Birth, Death and loss of data. You control the last.

Link to post
Share on other sites

mta made a great guess. Don't know when it started, but El Capitan is the first OS I know of that denies use of Secure Erasing.

I do wish Piriform, Apple and other developers would make it an option for all the people that use HDDs. We have to find third party applications that will perform this action. 

Do like mta says happens on PCs with a big warning. Not a big fan of SSDs.  Waiting for the next great recording medium. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...