Scan just runs and runs and runs....

Allan

I've been using CCleaner now for a couple of years now without encountering any problems but when I did my usual weekly scan at the week-end it just ran and ran and ran and eventually it came up with an error report saying that 'CCleaner has encountered a problem and needs to close.' and it gave me the usual option to report the problem to MS.

Looking through the Forum I see that there is a similar instance and the suggested solution, from YoKenny, was to reduce the default size of the Temporary Internet Folder(IE) to 40MB. I tried this but unfortunately no joy ! I'm running Windows XP SP2 and my computer expertise is limited. Any ideas please ? - and thanks.

Hi Allan and welcome :)

You may want to updat your VB here.

Let us know how it goes.

K

Windows Pro Media 8.1 x64  |  8GB Ram  |  500G HDD 7200 RPM  |  All  that I know about my graphics is that it's Intel  :)

Hi Allan and welcome :)

You may want to updat your VB here.

Let us know how it goes.

K

Will updating my VB possibly solve my problem - as I mentioned in my original question my computer expertise is limited ?

Cheers Allan

Updating your VB could possibly fix your problem. That's why I suggested it. Your problem sounds like a CCleaner crash, and the most common solution to that is updating your VB runtime. If it doesn't work, then you can post back with more information, and members will assist you in troubleshooting your problem. :)

Windows Pro Media 8.1 x64  |  8GB Ram  |  500G HDD 7200 RPM  |  All  that I know about my graphics is that it's Intel  :)

Updating your VB could possibly fix your problem. That's why I suggested it. Your problem sounds like a CCleaner crash, and the most common solution to that is updating your VB runtime. If it doesn't work, then you can post back with more information, and members will assist you in troubleshooting your problem. :)

I've updated the VB as suggested but I'm afraid the problem is still there.