Ccleaner use with SSD (solid state drive)

MCNorthAmerica

I have looked in the topic "SSD and secure deletion options in CCleaner and Recuva Started by rjo98, Oct 22 2014 02:42 AM" and this does not seem to answer my question. Could the community or a Piriform staff member address my question (below).  If this has been addressed, please point me in the right direction in the Piriform Forums.

I am a novice PC user & I use Ccleaner (Professional Edition).  I recently upgraded to a PC with a SSD for my "C" drive as well as other data drives in my system (internal & external connected by USB).  In addition I have a HDD (internal) for another data drive as well.  I have read that SSD's do not operate in the same way as HDDs with regard to data over writing & erasing. 

QUESTION: Does Ccleaner take these differences in to account when it operates in a system that has SSDs or a mix of SSDs & HDDs??  Can a user chose an "SSD option" in Ccleaner? ( I've looked for this & have not seen it). Or, is Ccleaner not suitable in a system with SSDs??

• Moderators

in brief, CC treats SSD's and HDD's the same on the crap removal front.

deleting temp files, browser history, dumps, log files etc is the same process no matter the storage medium.

it's mainly on the need to defrag and the way NAND storage is accessed when deleting/recovering that SSD's differ, and of course their lightning speed.

Backup now & backup often.
It's your digital life - protect it with a backup.
Three things are certain; Birth, Death and loss of data. You control the last.

• Moderators

I would add don't use secure file deletion. If you have a TRIM enabled O/S and SSD (which, being new, I assume you have) then TRIM does a secure deletion for you.

• 3 years later...

Hello,