Windows 10 x64 - BSOD

laurin1

I installed this today and when suddenly my machine crashed...hard. Like I was sure it was loss of a hard drive, video card, something. I finally got it back up long enough to see what was going on and the only thing I could find is sometimes, right before it crashed, I would get a close programs due to low memory and the only thing listed was CCleaner. I've had updated to the new version (5.15, via Chocolatey https://chocolatey.org/packages/ccleaner) today. I uninstalled CCleaner, no more crashing.

I was getting a BSOD message of "System_Service_Exception win32kbase.sys".

Since I posted this on Facebook, I've had one other person tell me that after running CCleaner on Windows 10, they had to completely reinstall Windows. Luckily, removing CCleaner solved my problem (I did runn sfc /scannow).

I'm a professional and all Chocolatey does is install the application, using the native installer, with a PowerShell script. No way that it could cause this issue - this is some kind of serious memory leak. Bad enough, that on 2 occasions last night my machine powered off - not a reboot, but shut all the way down completely.

This is also not the first time for to occur in CC's history: http://forum.piriform.com/?showtopic=33996

• Moderators

Chocolatey sounds like it's breaking piriform's license. Please ONLY download via official website or authorized dealers (such as file hippo)

ADVICE FOR USING CCleaner'S REGISTRY INTEGRITY SECTION

DON'T JUST CLEAN EVERYTHING THAT'S CHECKED OFF.

Do your Registry Cleaning in small bits (at the very least Check-mark by Check-mark)

ALWAYS BACKUP THE ENTRY, YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU'LL BREAK IF YOU DON'T.

Support at https://support.ccleaner.com/s/?language=en_US

Pro users file a PRIORITY SUPPORT via email support@ccleaner.com

Chocolatey sounds like it's breaking piriform's license. Please ONLY download via official website or authorized dealers (such as file hippo)