Ran registry fix in CCleaner after Windows 10 update, now computer won't boot

middlemancrisis

I had windows 10 for about 1 week, ran CCleaner's registry cleaner and after I clicked on "fix selected problems", the computer crashed and then upon restart I get the check boot media screen. I made sure the hour order has the HDD first, but it made no difference. I'm a capable newbie on these matters. I just wanted to check here first before taking it to the "professionals". Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

• Moderators

First, unless you are a corporate user and actually utilize the ether boot (highly unlikely in this threads case but maybe), go back into boot order and completely disable "network boot" or similar name that'll stop the screen you are getting.

Second, do you remember what registry entry you removed, have you created a windows restore disc? Do you have access to a second pc XP (or maybe Vista) or higher?

Third, while hopefully we can resolve this for you, I would like to take the opportunity to point you toward my long-time, much earlier than windows 10, signature. It provides sane, rational advice for the usage of any registry "fixer" product like CCleaner (though I might add especially competition softwares as CCleaner is the most gentle registry cleaner that I and many others have encountered).

ADVICE FOR USING CCleaner'S REGISTRY INTEGRITY SECTION

DON'T JUST CLEAN EVERYTHING THAT'S CHECKED OFF.

Do your Registry Cleaning in small bits (at the very least Check-mark by Check-mark)

ALWAYS BACKUP THE ENTRY, YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU'LL BREAK IF YOU DON'T.

Support at https://support.ccleaner.com/s/?language=en_US

Pro users file a PRIORITY SUPPORT via email support@ccleaner.com