File Finder: reliable, safe or not ?

Hav0c

First off, the File Finder functionality that is build in CCleaner (using v 4.11.4619 64-bit) is a very good idea for any number of reasons any user can think of.

But is it reliable and save ?

I have a couple of the exact files and folders that contains music, the one difference is the location of the music and the number of files varies between the folders.

After doing an initial default setup scan File Finder shows a lot of hits, all fine and dandy, but it's a swing and a miss result.

So I started playing with the Match by settings.

The first setup was easy, Withing location A(main) and B(backup) and their subfolders match by files name. Seems easy, but File Finder indicates no results.

The second setup. Match by Modified date and Size. Still no hits.

But the best thing is there are a lot of duplicate files and folders I can navigate to and manually delete on location B.

So this brings me back to my original question is it reliable and save ?

Clearly it's not reliable, as in my case, so what can Piriform do to make it more reliable ?

Maybe put in checksum verification either MD5 or any of the other verification checksum methords (SHA-1, SHA-256, CRC32 enc) the more the better and saver.

So the second part of my question in my opinion will be NO it isn't save as of date.

What do you guys think ?

Every line of code written by man can be undone by man

"A loser in the real world is still a loser in the net!" - .hack//SIGN

Getting old is inevitable,  growing up is optional !!

• Moderators

It's an extremely perilous exercise and should only be attempted by the 1) insanely bored or 2) anal retentive types that want their files 'just so'.

Many users on this forum covering many posts either love it or hate it, with the majority leaning towards (it not hating) at least suggestion "User Beware".