MFT error external hard drive

snake02

Hello there. I'm new to all this so bare with me. I've only had this external hard drive for a couple of years, and I am not so tech savvy so I'll try to as descriptive and detailed as possible. The portable hard drive just out of the blue stopped working.

Never dropped

no loud odd noises

Brand: Verbatim-Seagate 500gb usb.

I took the device apart and hooked it up direct to the tower itself. That was the only way the computer was able to even recognize it at all. And that was just some of these recovery programs and bios. I've ran chkdsk, bios says theres 0 memory on the device (at least bios recognized it).I've tried getting the latest drivers, that didn't help..  I'm at a loss here as to what to do now. I even attempted to format the thing, but it wouldn't even let me do that. It fails every time. Thinking I would just retrieve the information that was on it after. I could at least regain access to the drive again. But that didn't work either or that was my thought process. Is the drive completely just junk or is there a function I'm missing in the program here? Because the drive isn't showing up or recovering anything in the program that I see..?

Hello Snake and welcome to the forum. If you are trying to retrieve information from the drive, do not format it! Have you tried either Verbatim's or Seagate's support websites for help? Some sites are pretty good when it comes to diagnosing hardware/firmware/driver problems, you may find something you have overlooked.