/AUTO command line parameter does not work with cCleaner64.exe

ronjacq

I recently installed cCleaner on a new Toshiba 64 bit laptop running Windows 8. cCleaner runs fine if I start it from the Desktop icon; however, if I execute it in a .bat file with the /AUTO parameter, the program opens and closes in a split second and performs no cleaning actions. If I remove the /AUTO parameter from the command, cCleaner opens normally allowing me to interact with the software. I never had this issue on my old XP machines.

The command I execute is: c:\"program files"\cCleaner\cCleaner64.exe /AUTO Any advice would be appreciated.

• Moderators

Hi ronjacq, and welcome to the forum.

I'm no expert on command line, but I think your quotation marks may be off.

"C:\Program Files\CCleaner\CCleaner64.exe" /AUTO

Try that, it works on my XP machine and runs a flashing CCleaner icon in the systray.

Edited by DennisD
: Tried it out.

Thanks Dennis. When I ran your command as the target of a shortcut, it worked fine on my Windows 8 machine; however, when I ran it as one of several commands in a batch file it didn't seem to recognize the /AUTO at all but also did not open the cCleaner application normally either. Ron Kaplan

• Moderators

It might help if you copy and paste the contents of the batch file Ron.

Some of the guys on here are well versed in this stuff, and I'm sure if there's something not quite right they'll spot it.

I don't have Win8, but I have seen a few mentions via google that Win8 is unlike previous Operating Systems and answer 1 (the only one) here may make some sense to you ...

Turns out there is nothing to do with the administrator privilege.The problem is about the default System PATH variables on Windows 8 ,which is completely different from the previous versions.

http://superuser.com...le-on-windows-8

If that doesn't help, we have a number of Win8 users who I'm sure will contribute to the topic.

Another possibility might be