Unsuccessful undelete

rmunson1

i have a serious problem attempting to undelete movies (and photos) from my movie camera. i have used google (trying to find suggestions/help) extensively to no avail.

history - i have over 10 years of experience with digital camera imports to my desktop. for my convenience (not so convenient today), i have always selected ‘delete after importing’. it worked fine on 7-8 different computers and 7-8 different cameras over those 10 years, including the current one. but not this time. the import appeared to work, but no pictures or movies were to be found on my hard drive. sure enough, the ‘delete after import’ worked just fine. so, i started looking to undelete.

the camera is an oregon scientific atc9k hd all terrain waterproof video action camera with a 32gb mini-sandisk card.

i found some online software to perform the undelete for ‘free’. i looked at http://ntfsundelete.com/ . it looked promising, but it proved to not be free and i wanted to focus on that route. i then found others that all said they would perform the undelete.

first try:

http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/photorec

this appeared to recover my photos reasonably well, but all movies that were recovered failed. when trying to play on wmp, i get an error message “windows media player encountered a problem while trying to play the file. when i play on itunes, itunes crashes, no error message.

second try:

http://www.glarysoft.com/products/utilities/glary-undelete/

with this my movies all appear to be recovered, but when playing on wmp, i get the whole duration of the movie with a completely black screen - no sound, no images. when i attempt to ‘open with’ itunes, i get a trip to the itunes store, but nothing plays. if i import the movie into my library and then attempt to play it, itunes plays static and a single frame of the movie for 1-2 seconds and then itunes crashes.

third try:

http://www.easeus.com/download.htm