Mega Problem - Pro's Needed

Ultimate Predator

My PC since I uninstalled my old internet security suite (f-secure bundled with my internet connection), screwed up me updating my PC in most ways.

This means any new program I put on my PC, or programs that I had not updated before, will not update, they all come through with the similar error that they could connect me to their server. Yet programs that I update regurely before, update fine now. I posted up a hijackthis log on CCleaner forums when the problem started happening, I was clean. I have no visible proxy, do you have any ideas?

Many Thanks,

Ultimate Predator

P.S I was recommended to get Dial-A-Fix which I have, but what the hell do I click on to hopefully fix this problem?

I am not a pro, but I am a long way from home and have a briefcase. Can I assume you have checked your security settings since you uninstalled?

If it isn't broke, tweak it.

• Moderators

F-Secure supposedly has BackWeb or BackWeb Lite bundled with it, probably as an update component.

Running Spybot SD can deal with some (not very much actually) of BackWeb's stuff in the registry however the only way I could get rid of most of it after installing Kodak digital camera software was to first run Spybot SD, and then use RegSeeker. Using RegSeeker's 'Find in registry...' tool. I searched the registry, and then the hard disk for BackWeb and bwpfile to get rid of it. You'll have to look in the Windows directory and sub-folders to find even more of it and manually delete it.

Some places to look in the registry for manually removing BackWeb are:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\BackWeb

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\bwpfile

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\BackWeb

I will run DJ Lizards and check it all, and run that. If that does not fix the problem I will get spybot, regseek all backweb, and then manually delete all of the rest of backweb. Thanks.

UPDATE: