[[Template core/front/global/favico is throwing an error. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]] Jump to content
CCleaner Community Forums

Obsolete option in CC ?


Willy2

Recommended Posts

I discovered something odd. The user can select an option called ""Show initial results in detailed view"" (""Options"", ""Advanced""). For me it's a mystery what this option does. I ticked and unticked that box but I didn't see any change in the behaviour of CC v2.31. I read the online documentation but it didn't provide a clue either.

 

It seems this option has become obsolete because the user already can view the details of the files to be wiped by clicking on a category. So, it seems this option can be removed in the next version of CC.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Let's assume the user has selected the detailed view. If the user then clicks on ""View results summary"" then every time after the user hits ""Analyze"" again, CC only shows the summary, not the detailed view any more.

 

When the User wants to see the details again, then he/she must click on a category to see the details. After that, every time the user clicks on ""Analyze"" CC shows the detailed view again.

 

I personally would expect (and prefer) CC to check this option every time the user hits ""Analyze"" and depending on this option CC should show the summary or all the details.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators

Let's assume the user has selected the detailed view. If the user then clicks on ""View results summary"" then every time after the user hits ""Analyze"" again, CC only shows the summary, not the detailed view any more.

 

When the User wants to see the details again, then he/she must click on a category to see the details. After that, every time the user clicks on ""Analyze"" CC shows the detailed view again.

 

I personally would expect (and prefer) CC to check this option every time the user hits ""Analyze"" and depending on this option CC should show the summary or all the details.

No I just checked, it'll go back to the option when you quit and start the program back up

this is getting confusing so

 

1) Checkmark in OPtions show detailed

2) Exit

3) Start ccleaner again

4) Run cleaner or analysis

5) shows in details

6) click summary

7) Exit

8) Start ccleaner again

9) Run cleaner or analysis

10) shows in details

Link to post
Share on other sites

You're correct. CC checks that option only when the user (re-)starts the program. But after the user has switched from one view to the other, CC ignores that setting completely. It simply remembers the current status (summary or detailed). And that's why I call this an obsolete option.

 

As mentioned before I would prefer to see CC check this option every time the user hits ""Analyze"" (or ""Run Cleaner"" ???). But perhaps I am the only who has this opinion.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators

Detailed View is not an obsolete option at, so I seriously hope people aren't going to start complaining about an option that can simply be turned on/off. It's there to keep two groups of users happy, those that like Detailed View and others who like the Summary View.

 

Some of us very old users from the very beginning of CCleaner greatly missed Detailed View when it completely disappeared altogether in summer 2009, some of us also refused to update when it went missing.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it should be stored as a setting. Does it really need a control for it?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Ident,

 

I agree. It should be a setting. So, if the user has chosen for a detailed view or a summary then CC should remember the latest status and store it in either the registry or in ""ccleaner.ini"".

Link to post
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...