avast 5

Eli

Hi

I`m still using Avast 4.8. I understand that as they`ve started the new version: 5 , they were some users complaints about some issues.

My question : Is there a significant improvement worthwhile to update to the new version ?

Thanks

OS : MS windows XP pro sp3 Processor : AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual core 3800, 2009Mhz.
Mother board : Gygabyte M61 PM-S2 Ram : 3GB
Disk space : 649.05 GB Default browser: Firefox
Protection : Sandboxie, MBam free version

Hi

I`m still using Avast 4.8. I understand that as they`ve started the new version: 5 , they were some users complaints about some issues.

My question : Is there a significant improvement worthwhile to update to the new version ?

Thanks

I would say 100% update to the latest version. The interface is cleaner and seems to scan quicker than before. I have been using it for a couple of months and have had no issues

No issues on a Vista laptop. Updates immediately after a boot if I haven't used the LT for a few days and updates at the very least once more during the day. And indeed, this is just the free version. Do the custom install if you don't want certain shields, e.g. Messaging Shield, although you can also disable them if they are installed.

One of the biggest improvements I think I've seen with any program update. Works well on my system, and uses a lot less resource than 4.8.

A definite yes to the update question.

I agree 100%

• Moderators

Just switched over to it after my AntiVir v10 super issues. It's running very good on my desktop XP Pro system and no conflicts like my first try of it so no STOP errors which make Windows unusable.

It's a very worthwhile update now as they seem to have weeded out the majority of serious conflicts.

At the moment I've been using it for a couple of days and can't fault it at all!

I`m still using Avast 4.8. I understand that as they`ve started the new version: 5