Jump to content
CCleaner Community Forums

Find the best sites


Recommended Posts

I try to follow the news about security, freeware, tricks, Windows, updates and things like that. I read blogs, magazines and other websites. But I would like to expand my collection of bookmarks and links. What are the best sites? Which sites do you read? Recommendations, please! :P

 

Edit: Here's a summery of the posts below - and then some:

 

OBS: The internet is under malware attack constantly. These sites were clean when they were added. But this can change. So as always: be careful, use a firewall and updated anti-malware programs. Use a link scanner such as WOT, AVG Link Scanner, Finjan SecureBrowsing or SiteAdvisor.

 

PC news sites liked by users:

 

4sysops: http://4sysops.com/

95 websites: http://www.techradar.com/news/internet/95-...rk-today-639721

Ars Technica: http://arstechnica.com/

Ask the Performance Team: http://blogs.technet.com/askperf/

Bharat's Secuity Blog: http://bharath-m-narayan.blogspot.com/

Black Hat: http://www.blackhat.com/

Bright Side of the News: http://www.brightsideofnews.com/default.aspx

Bruce Schneier: http://www.schneier.com/index.html

Computerworld: http://www.computerworld.com/

CNET: http://www.cnet.com/

Dancho Danchev's Blog: http://ddanchev.blogspot.com/

Digital Inspiration: http://www.labnol.org/

Digg: http://digg.com/

Eches: http://blog.eches.net/

Engadget: http://www.engadget.com/

Engineering Windows 7: http://blogs.msdn.com/e7/

FavBrowser: http://www.favbrowser.com/

For Free on Internet: http://for-free-on-internet.com/

Freeware Genius: http://www.freewaregenius.com/

iCalvyn: http://www.icalvyn.com/

Gecko and Fly: http://www.geckoandfly.com/

ghacks.net: http://www.ghacks.net/

How-To Geek: http://www.howtogeek.com/

iDaveSpot: http://idavespot.com/

Istartedsomething: http://www.istartedsomething.com/

Japan Probe: http://www.japanprobe.com/

KezNews: http://keznews.com/

Life Rocks: http://www.nirmaltv.com/

Lifehacker: http://lifehacker.com/

MakeUseOf: http://www.makeuseof.com/

Mark's Blog: http://blogs.technet.com/markrussinovich/

Mashable: http://mashable.com/

Maximum PC: http://www.maximumpc.com/

Michael Aulia's Blog: http://www.michaelaulia.com/blogs/

Microsoft Developer Network: http://msdn.microsoft.com/

Microsoft Kitchen: http://msftkitchen.com/

Microsoft TechNet: http://technet.microsoft.com/

My Tech Quest: http://mytechquest.com/

Neowin: http://www.neowin.net/

NTdebugging: http://blogs.msdn.com/ntdebugging/

OSnews: http://www.osnews.com/

Paul Thurrott's SuperSite for Windows: http://www.winsupersite.com/Default.asp

PC Advisor: http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/

PC Magazine: http://www.pcmag.com/

PC Pitstop: http://www.pcpitstop.com/

PC Pro: http://www.pcpro.co.uk/

PC World: http://www.pcworld.com/

Project Gutenberg: http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Raymond.CC: http://www.raymond.cc/blog/

SC Magazine: http://www.securecomputing.net.au/

Security Garden: http://securitygarden.blogspot.com/

Sizzled Core: http://www.sizzledcore.com/

Short Sharp Science: http://www.newscientist.com/blogs/shortsha...nce/technology/

Spyware Sucks: http://msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/default.aspx

Tech Blog: http://www.techeblog.com/

Tech Support Alert (Gizmo's): http://www.techsupportalert.com/

TechBlog (Dwight Silverman): http://blogs.chron.com/techblog/

TechCrunch: http://www.techcrunch.com/

Techeblog: http://www.techeblog.com/

TechMixer: http://www.techmixer.com/

TechNet Magazine: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/default.aspx

Technically Personal: http://techpp.com/

TechRadar: http://www.techradar.com/

TechSnack: http://www.techsnack.net/

Tiplet: http://tiplet.com/

TG Daily: http://www.tgdaily.com/index.php

The Calendar of Updates: http://www.calendarofupdates.com/

The Next Web: http://thenextweb.com/

The Register: http://www.theregister.co.uk/

The Windows Club: The Windows Club: http://www.thewindowsclub.com/

Tweaking with Vishal (AskVG): http://www.askvg.com/

WhoisMadhur: http://www.whoismadhur.com/who-am-i/

Windows 8 News: http://blog.eightforums.com/

Windows Guides: http://mintywhite.com/

Windows IT Pro: http://windowsitpro.com/

ZDNet: http://www.zdnet.com/

 

Programs and download sites liked by users:

 

A-Z Freeware Launcher: http://a-z-freewarelauncher.yolasite.com/

Clean Softs Professional Association: http://cleansofts.org/

Depicus: http://www.depicus.com/wake-on-lan/

FileForum: http://fileforum.betanews.com/

Free Download a Day: http://www.freedownloadaday.com/

Freeware Files: http://www.freewarefiles.com/

Give Away of the Day: http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/

Karen's Power Tools: http://www.karenware.com/

Mess.be: http://www.mess.be/

NirSoft: http://www.nirsoft.net/

PortableApps: http://portableapps.com/

Secunia PSI: http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal/

Softpedia: http://www.softpedia.com/

Windows Sysinternals: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/default.aspx

 

Art, music and video sites liked by users:

 

Billboard: http://www.billboard.com/#/

DeviantArt: http://www.deviantart.com/#

iLike: http://www.ilike.com/

Last.fm: http://www.last.fm/

SmugMug: http://www.smugmug.com/

The Internet Movie Database: http://www.imdb.com/

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/

 

Tutorials and articles liked by users:

 

Computer Hope: http://www.computerhope.com/

Free Manuals: http://the-manuals.com/

Microsoft Fix it Solution Center: http://support.microsoft.com/gp/cp_fixit_main#tab0

Microsoft TecNet - 10 Immutable Laws of Security: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-gb/library/cc722487.aspx

Secunia - Secunia Advisories by Product: http://secunia.com/advisories/product/

Sysinternals Forums: http://forum.sysinternals.com/

Vista Forums: http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/

W3Schools: http://www.w3schools.com/

Link to post
Share on other sites

I've used PCWorld.com for years, also get their various newsletters.

 

.....and to think I used to read the magazine for 7 years.

Link to post
Share on other sites

For an interesting security read I recommend subscribing to Bruce Schneier's monthly newsletter. You can read it or subscribe here ... http://www.schneier.com/crypto-gram.html

 

Techie stuff, but great as a reference site and for things like improving your javascript ... http://www.w3schools.com/

 

Some good dos stuff here ... http://www.computerhope.com/

 

Can't go wrong with Sysinternals ... something for everyone ... http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/default.aspx

 

Ever tried waking-up your computer ... remotely ... http://www.depicus.com/wake-on-lan/

 

10 Immutable Laws of Security http://technet.microsoft.com/en-gb/library/cc722487.aspx

 

How many holes are there in your software ... http://secunia.com/advisories/product/

 

Portable applications for your USB stick ...http://portableapps.com/

 

If you're fairly technically savvy, the Microsoft technical resources and developer network are very useful sources of information:

 

http://technet.microsoft.com/

 

http://msdn.microsoft.com/

Link to post
Share on other sites

Youtube :D

Billboard

AskVG

Imdb

Softpedia <- softwares.

neowin <- latest news

vistax64.com/tutorials <- nice tricks.

last.fm

ilike

mess.be

deviantart

techsupportalert

Link to post
Share on other sites

11rw6ev.jpg Hahaha! Added!

 

Also added:

4sysops: http://4sysops.com/

Ask the Performance Team: http://blogs.technet.com/askperf/

Black Hat: http://www.blackhat.com/

Dancho Danchev's Blog: http://ddanchev.blogspot.com/

Engineering Windows 7: http://blogs.msdn.com/e7/

Freeware Genius: Freeware Genius: http://www.freewaregenius.com/

Istartedsomething: http://www.istartedsomething.com/

MakeUseOf: http://www.makeuseof.com/

Mark's Blog: http://blogs.technet.com/markrussinovich/

NirSoft: http://www.nirsoft.net/

NTdebugging: http://blogs.msdn.com/ntdebugging/

OSnews: http://www.osnews.com/

Project Gutenberg: http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Sysinternals Forum: http://forum.sysinternals.com/

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
×
×
  • Create New...