ThreatFire

abu aufa

Its a HIPS like program used for real-time protection. Supposed to be good, but HIPS tend to be too complicated for the average user.

Have heard of it causing conflicts with other AVs

By the power of truth, I, while living, have conquered the universe.

~Scratch~

Actually, I've been using it for several months -- no problems whatsoever. It's an incredibly simple program to use -- nothing to fiddle with. Simply download it and install it -- that's it. And, it runs concurrently with my AV (Antivir Premium) and doesn't conflict with it at all.

I agree with Tom AZ. I have also been using it for some time now with no problems at all. It updates itself, and so far there have been no conflicts with my other AV programs.

I might just mention that until about a month or two ago, they used to include standard virus definition updates. That's been done away with. There are still updates, but just for anti-rootkit definitions. So, if you decide to scan your system, you're just scanning for anti-rootkits -- nothing else.

Actually, I've been using it for several months -- no problems whatsoever. It's an incredibly simple program to use -- nothing to fiddle with. Simply download it and install it -- that's it. And, it runs concurrently with my AV (Antivir Premium) and doesn't conflict with it at all.

I agree totally. I have used it for many months now and very happy with it. I use avast! as well as Zone Alarm and there have been no conflicts at all with ThreatFire.

One thing: It can be kind of RAM hungry

Like most resident apps, that's sometimes true -- but not all the time. IMO, it seems like very moderate consumption most of the time.

The last time I tried it the uninstaller didn't uninstall anything whatsoever. Good thing I track everything with Total Uninstall.

The only thing it didn't do when i re-installed was remove the service. Odd

The computer is mightier than the sword

link1.gif link1.gif

Click here for cool stuff

• 3 weeks later...