CCleaner wiping wanted cookies

Phonemes

Hi,

I have been using CCleaner for many years but never seen this happen before. For a few weeks now, CCleaner appears to erase the IE cookies I have set be be kept. Nearly all of these are login cookies.

I use Avant Browser, an IE shell type of browser that uses IE cookies, on a fully updated XP Pro system.

Whenever I use the cleaner, these cookies are deleted, but strangely enough only after I reboot my computer. The pattern is consistent. No cookies are lost when I reboot without having used CCleaner.

Any ideas out there what might be causing this?

TIA, Arthur

Edit: I just saw a few bug reports about this same problem. Some of the posters mention using IE8 beta. and that is what I am doing. It may be a problem with the IE beta.

I'm with Phonemes. Have the same problems with CCleaner wiping login-cookies since a few weeks back. Everything ran real fine until then and I really appreciated CCleaners "keep cookies-functionality" but as per above, that is unfortunately gone now. I just downloaded the lastest version, 2.17.853, but still have the same problems.

To test I have "unsaved" cookies and resaved them but to no avail, CCleaner still wipes a number the log-in-cookies that I want to keep.

The only change to this PC in the last couple of weeks is to have removed F-Secure and replaced it with Avast Home.

I use IE 6.0, no changes there.

Regards

PiPPi

Stockholm, Sweden

Welcome PiPPi

What operating system are you using?

"Education is what remains after one has forgotten everything he learned in school." - Albert Einstein

IE7Pro user

I don't have a problem on my XP Home nor Pro systems and by the way SP3 has been out for almost 8 months now and has several Security fixes and if you haven't read about Conficker infection then your system is a prime target:

http://forum.piriform.com/index.php?showtopic=19870

IE7 is much safer and has Tabbed browsing: