CCleaner and McAfee

Keithuk

Hi all.

I've had a newer computer at work and as they won't install CC anymore I take my own zip to work. Now on my old computer I noticed that McAfee had stopped loading on startup. I reported this to the IT techs and they said I need a new computer. Well I've been asking for a newer computer for 4 years and they finally got their finger out. My old one was a WinXP 2002 SP2, Pentium II 233Mhz with 339MB Ram and a 10GB HDD. I now have a WinXP 2002 SP2, Pentium 4 1.70Ghz with 2GB Ram and a 62GB HDD.

Now I ran CC to do a clean and things seemed ok. The next day I started up I get no McAfee screen on startup. I check Program Files and there are no files in McAfee folder. Strange I know it showed the day before because I've seen it. I reported this problem to the IT techs plus this computer has a CD Writer so I needed Nero installing. They came down and installed Nero and McAfee again. Now he didn't give me any grief over McAfee was there what had I done. Now its strange McAfee disappeared of my old computer and now it disappeared on my new one and I haven't tried a Registry clean yet, in fact I don't think I'll bother. I've done a scan of what problems are comming up loads but I left it there.

I don't know if there is any connection between CC and McAfee with this problem. I know CC is just a crap cleaner and it shouldn't remove files unless you tell it too. ;)

Keith

Windows XP 2002 SP3

IE 7.0

Martin2k

Rorshach112 is the best

Of course our versions of McAfee may not be the same and there could be some other differences.

Hi Jim.

We use McAfee 8.5i at work.

Is McAfee being installed to a program files location and not a temp one , or some other 'unusual' location?

Its being installed at the normal location Program Files Hazel. After the IT techs reinstalled it, it was back in there. ;)

Keith

Windows XP 2002 SP3

IE 7.0

Martin2k

Rorshach112 is the best