MSN Explorer - is it not needed & should be removed?

razz

According to BlackViper: Go to the "Add Remove Programs" and click the "Windows components." Here, take out all the crap you do not need. Such as "MSN EXPLORER" and such.

I am by no means an expert and that is why I just assumed it was necessary for proper function. By the above comment, I gather it is not. Will IE still function and will all be ok in XP land if I disable it?

Thank you for your time, I really appreciate it.

yes it will still function..i myself removed MSN here in my pc :)

I did the same a year ago. Bye-bye Butterfly. What a pain in the neck that MSN crap was.

If you miss the butterfly, you can always bring it back.

:) davey

The problem is that Microsoft uses Messenger a lot with its applications and services.

There is the un-necessary Messenger Service that

Transmits net send and Alerter service messages between clients and servers. This service is not related to Windows Messenger. If this service is stopped, Alerter messages will not be transmitted.

Then there is Windows Messenger that is the old Instant Messaging client that is installed by default and is un-necessary.

Then there is the new Windows Live Messenger Build 8.5.1302.1018 that I use occasionally.

I don't use MSN Explorer neither and IE7 works just fine with IE7Pro and IE8 beta2 with IE7Pro that I am typing this post with right now.

Windows Messenger and MSN Explorer can be un-installed through Add/Remove Programs then Add/Remove Windows Components.

"Education is what remains after one has forgotten everything he learned in school." - Albert Einstein

IE7Pro user

I can't make heads or tails of these too simple instructions. I mean, really, read them.

"To add or remove a component, click the checkbox." WTF? Notice that some are already checked when I started this app. Does this mean they're installed and I should "uncheck" them to uninstall them? It certainly doesn't tell me that. <_<

th_addremove.jpg